Early Childhood Programs


Early Childhood Workshops 2017/2018

Recommended ages 7 and younger accompanied by an adult.

Jumpstart your young scientist's education! The Science Center's early childhood workshops are free with paid admission and encourage pre-kindergarten children and their favorite adult to explore the world of engineering with the help of The Boston Children's Museum's: Tinker Kit resource. Drop in on the first Saturday of the month between 10:30 a.m. and noon, or the second Friday of the month between 1:30-3 p.m. and enjoy 30 minutes of age-appropriate tinkering activities. Workshops can be messy, so please dress appropriately.

Tinker Kit, Copyright Boston Children’s Museum 2016, reprinted with permission for non-commercial, educational use.

 

Saturday, October 7 or Friday, October 13, 2017: Keep It Together
Experiment with the many different ways you can keep things together. What objects help us to keep things together? What is the best object to use with different materials? Make a take-home project that will "stick" in your memory forever!

Saturday, November 4 or Friday, November 10, 2017: Take Things Apart
Have you ever looked at a machine and wondered, "How does that thing work?" Let's find out! Practice taking things apart safely and discovering what makes things tick.

Saturday, December 2 or Friday, December 8, 2017: Move It
How many different ways can you make an object move? Using power from air, gravity and machines, discover the three laws of motion and create a take-home project that will keep you moving!

Saturday, January 6 or Friday, January 12, 2018: Make a Mark
Engineers have to make their marks carefully! Practice fine motor skills and the best way to make marks in different materials.

Saturday, February 3 or Friday, February 9, 2018: Mix It Up
Mix, measure and make a mess! Creative thinking is the cornerstone of engineering. In this workshop, your youngest engineers will be able to explore openly with different materials.

Saturday, March 3 or Friday, March 9, 2018: Build-A-Bridge: Engineering Challenge
Use recycled materials to design and build a bridge, then test it to see if it can hold a penny, a block, or even a rock!

Saturday, April 7 or Friday, April 13, 2018: Cardboard City
Using only cardboard and tape, can you build a house, stadium, or skyscraper? Let's build a community while discussing the importance of recycling to our environment.

Saturday, May 5 or Friday, May 11, 2018: Funstruction
Using what you have learned about tinkering, making and engineering, openly explore with different materials and see who can build the tallest structure!